Kerala dentist Sajeev Koshy honored with highest Australian honor  Latest Current Affairs Today – 27th January 2016

A Kerala dentist Sajeev Koshy settled in Melbourne was honored with the highest civilian honor, the Order of Australia on 26 January 2016.

He was given the award for his service to dentistry in Victoria, Australia and was honored on the Australia Day Awards 2016, by the Governor General of Australia.

About Sajeev Koshy

  • Served as the president of the Kerala Dental Council
  • President of the Indian Dental Association.
  • Currently the head of the endodontics at the Royal Melbourne Dental Hospital, which is the teaching hospital for the University of Melbourne.

About Order of Australia

  • An order of chivalry established by Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia on 14 February 1975.
  • Highest civilian honor in Australia
  • Awarded to recognize Australian citizens and other persons for achievement or meritorious service.
  • Before the establishment of the order, Australian citizens received British honors.


Padma Awardees for 2016 ListLatest Current Affairs Today – 27th January 2016

On 26 January 2016 President Pranab Mukherjee announced the winners of the Padma Awards 2016.

The list comprises of:

  • 10 Padma Vibhushan
  • 19 Padma Bhushan
  • 83 Padma Shri Awardees.

19 of the awardees in the list are women and the list also includes 10 persons in the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and 4 posthumous awardees.

The Padma Awardees for 2016 are:

Click here to view List of Padma Awardees 2016

About Padma Awards

  • The highest civilian Awards of India.
  • Conferred in three categories namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
  • Awarded in various disciplines or fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.
  • Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service
  • Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of high order
  • Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field.
  • Announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.
  • Conferred by the President of India at ceremonial function at Rashtrapati Bhawan every year around March.

National Bravery Awards 2016 RecipientsLatest Current Affairs Today – 27th January 2016

Every year, 24 children are acknowledged for their extra ordinary courage and presented the National Bravery Award on Republic Day.

This year, Prime Minister Modi awarded them on 26th January 2016.

The National Bravery Awards Recipients are:

Click here to view – List of National Bravery Awards 2016

About The National Bravery Awards

Consist of 5 categories, which are:

  1. The Bharat Award, since 1987
  2. The Sanjay Chopra Award, since 1978
  3. The Geeta Chopra Award, since 1978
  4. The Bapu Gaidhani Award, since 1988
  5. General National Bravery Awards, since 1957 


  • The awards are given to children who were between the ages of 6-18 when they committed their acts of bravery.
  • Includes a medal, certificate, and a cash prize.
  • The Bharat Award winner gets a gold medal, while the others get a silver medal.
  • Additionally each child is given financial assistance to complete his or her schooling, as a part of ICCW’s sponsorship program, under the Indira Gandhi scholarship scheme.
  • Each year, the ICCW receives applications for the National Bravery Award.
  • Applications come from official agencies such as local and district governments, school authorities, and councils for child welfare.
  • Awardees are selected by a committee constituted by the ICCW.
  • Selected committee consists of representatives from leading government and non-government organizations